March 30, 2016 – Why I am teaching the Enneagram

I am teaching a class on the Enneagram starting tonight. You may be wondering…what is the Enneagram?

The Enneagram is a study of the nine basic types of people. It explains why we behave the way we do, and it points to specific directions for individual growth. It is an important tool for improving relationships with family, friends, and co-workers.

The roots of the Enneagram go back many centuries. Its exact origin is not known, but it is believed to have been taught orally in secret Sufi brotherhoods in the Middle East. The Russian mystical teacher G.I. Gurdjieff introduced it to Europe in the 1920’s and it arrived in the United States in the 1960’s.

Ennea is simply Greek for nine and gram means a drawing. Therefore, the Enneagram is based on 9 points or personality types. It gets increasingly complicated, beyond what I can describe in this space, but the Enneagram shows how we behave when we are in a place of growth or when we are in a place of stress or distress.

Different Enneagram teachers use different terms but the nine personality types are as follows:

  1. The Perfectionist
  2. The Helper
  3. The Achiever
  4. The Romantic
  5. The Observer
  6. The Questioner
  7. The Adventurer
  8. The Asserter
  9. The Peacemaker

You can go online and google Enneagram and you will see a number of free online tests. It is an interesting way to grow spiritually, emotionally, and relationally – with God, others, and self.

I have been studying the Enneagram for 30+ years and I have found it to be an incredibly helpful tool in becoming more self-aware.

If you would like to take the class, please register by clicking here.

Questions, please call Cheryl at 684-1117 or email her at



No comments yet

The comments are closed.